SCDSB recognizes Commitment to Character

On May 18, over 100 students, staff, volunteers and co-op employers gathered at the Education Centre for the annual Character Recognition Awards Evening. Each year, the Simcoe County District School Board (SCDSB), through the Character Education Development Project Team, recognizes individuals in school communities who demonstrate good character in their daily lives.

This year, employers providing co-operative education opportunities to our students were added as a sub-group for recognition.

Honourees were nominated by their peers and colleagues for their demonstration of one or more of the SCDSB’s Commit to Character attributes: integrity, responsibility, cooperation, caring, respect, optimism, honesty, equality, courage and inclusiveness.

“Our schools are filled with students, staff and volunteers who demonstrate amazing character on a daily basis,” said Superintendent of Education Daryl Halliday.

The event began with a performance from W.R. Best’s Ukulele Club. Artwork and videos created by students with a focus on good character and what it takes to be a great Canadian were shared throughout the evening.

Congratulations to all Character Recognition Award recipients!

A full list of Character Recognition recipients is included below:

Abigail Beckett
Adam Laver
Sarah Hamby
Ainsleigh Baird
Alexa Flood
Alexandra Wilson
Ali Bull
Alyssa Brinkman
Amber Thiveierge
Ava Lazary
Ben Cridland
Blake Jones
Bolu Ogunniyi
Braedan Allen
Brooke Giles
Catherine Lacoursiere
Chad Malone
Charlotte Creswicke
Claire Sit
Clare Novakovich
Danny Webster
Devon Hansard
Dylan Cullen
Elise Durie
Erika Thomas
Gavin Jamieson
Gavin O’Leary
Gavyn Robinson
Grace Taylor
Jack Dimou
Jack Straw
Jacob Day Webber
Jaime Mogridge
James Doyle
Jocelyn Johnson
Jocelyn Kendall
Jordan VanWalleghem
Kaia Pluim-Simon
Kaitlyn McKnight
Kendra Lancaster
Kyles Swales
Maggie Gillis-Baker
Mallory Luhtala
Matt Moreau
Melia Robinson
Mya Greenwood
Natalie Betts
Noah Humble
Reece Oliver Clarke-Versluys
Reid Wilson
Ryder Hellingman
Sarah Steadman
Semiah Kyle
Sophie Cherutti
Steven McCartney
Tatiana Ferrante
Yasmin MacLean
Zoe de Savoye

Caroline Fisker
Chantal Millar
Diane Jolliffe
James Gallant
Jan Cumming
Jason Taylor
Jenn Manuge
Jessica Longthorne
John Gillen
John Brown
Karen Wilson
Kathy Hacon-Belcourt
Katie Cain
Katie Evans
Kit Luce
Marlene Macklin
Megan Fremeau
Rosalee Bard
Roseanne Moreau
Sally Telford
Stan Conaghan
Steve Harper
Tony Centurione

Alice Leach
Alison Currie
Amanda Campbell
Andrea Butcher-Milne
Anne Worts
Becky Dwinnell
Carrie Barnes
Clayton Culham
Colleen Cascanette
Erik Carl
Gaye Spencer
Heather Rowell
Janice Breadmore
Jennifer Dunster
Jill Ruppert Julia Lialiuk
Karen Aigeldinger
Kelly Coward
Ken Wilkins
Michelle Magnusson
Patty Wilkinson
Sherry Watton
Tammy Boker
Tara Marshall-Sutton
Tim Moncin
Tony Denbok
Tracy Ross

Cooperative Education Employers
Bayfield Ford Lincoln
Danny Viveiros & Victoria Gilbert – Dortec Industries, Bradford
Dr. Sally Moran & Dr. Hilary Rodd – Orillia & District Veterinary Services
Jackie Curd – The Clothes Line
Michelle Mailhoit – Michelle’s Top Soil

Leave a Reply